Surface of open clamp size

If during the feeding out of silage any heating up is be observed, different conservation products, like Lupro-Mix NA or Grain Save NC can be used. Nevertheless the reasons for such problems shall be indentified. Only then, the risk for such problems in silage will be reduced, because it shall be clear, that the conservation product is able to penetrate the silage only a few centimeters deep and the effect is restricted.

The dosage for the treatment is: Per square metre 0,5 l acid mixed with 2 l water.

Additionally all possibilities to increase the feeding out rate shall be proved.

Further tips to the size of the open clamp you can find here

More information here


Treatment of cutting surface

If the cutting surface of the silage becomes warm during removal, its aerobic stability is insufficient. Often it is management deficits that cause these problems. Before using preservatives, the following points must also be examined critically::

1. What is the feed out speed per week?

The minimum feed out speed per week of 1.5 - 2.0 m in winter and 2.5 - 3.0 m in summer must be ensured. If this does not fit, changes in the ration design could increase this. The cutting surface can also be stabilized with preservatives. However, their effect is limited. For the coming silo season, it is therefore essential to check to what extent the local conditions permit a modification of the silo system. If this is not possible, it will be necessary in future to consistently use silage additives (BioCool) to avoid heating up problems.

2. Will the cutting surface be loosened up during removal?

The more it is loosened up, the easier the air can penetrate into the silage. Work must be carried out with appropriate care and the cutting tools used must also be sharp. Sometimes it is also useful to change to block cutter or silo milling machine.

3. How far back is the silage foil? Is it sufficiently fixed or does the foil flutter?

The foil can be easily fixed to the cutting surface. It must not flutter (air pump effect). In addition, the air must not get between the silage and the foil. Tyres (--> link) are less suitable for fixing the foil. Better use silo bags. Furthermore, the silo foil must only be beaten back as far as necessary for removal. It should lie directly on edge with the cutting surface. The further the clamp is opened, the easier the air can penetrate into the silage and problems are pre-programmed.

These measures should always be carried out in parallel with the use of preservatives. The products themselves are distributed evenly over the cutting surface. Their effect is usually limited to only a few centimetres of depth, as they do not penetrate any further. Correctly applied, however, they are able to slightly reduce the microbial pressure from the open side of the clamp.

The following products can be used:

Lupro-Mix NA

Grain Save NC 90

Propionic acid

Potassium sorbate

In any case, it is important to find the causes of the heating up problems. This means that the complete silage management has to be checked critically. Has it been sufficiently compacted? How was the compacting work? Has it been cutted short enough? Does DM and crude fibre content match? Just a few questions to be answered in this context. This is the only way to prevent problems and prevent them for the coming silage season.


Contact form
Contact us!

Anschnittfläche

Wird die Anschnittfläche der Silage während der Entnahme warm, ist deren aerobe Stabilität nicht ausreichend. Oft sind es Mängel im Management, die diese Probleme verursachen. Vor der Anwendung von Konservierungsmitteln sind auch folgende Punkte kritisch zu prüfen::

1. Wie hoch ist der Vorschub pro Woche?

Der Mindestvorschub pro Woche von 1,5 - 2,0 Metern im Winter bzw. 2,5 - 3,0 Metern im Sommer muss sicher gestellt werden. Passt dieser nicht, könnten Umstellungen in der Rationsgestaltung diesen erhöhen. Außerdem kann die Anschnittfläche mit Hilfe von Konservierungsmitteln stabilisiert werden. Ihre Wirkung ist aber nur begrenzt. Deshalb für die kommende Siliersaison unbedingt prüfen, inwieweit die örtlichen Gegebenheiten eine Veränderung der Siloanlage zulassen. Ist das nicht möglich, müssen zukünftig konsequent Siliermittel (BioCool) zur Vermeidung von Nacherwärmungsproblemen eingesetzt werden.

2. Wird stark wird die Anschnittfläche bei der Entnahme aufgelockert?

Je stärker sie aufgelockert wird, desto leichter kann die Luft in die Silage eindringen. Hier muss entsprechend umsichtig gearbeitet werden und die verwendeten Schneidwerkzeuge müssen auch scharf sein. Mitunter ist es auch sinnvoll zu Blockschneider oder Silofräse zu wechseln.

3. Wie weit ist die Silofolie zurück geschlagen? Ist diese ausreichend fixiert, oder flattert die Folie?

An der Anschnittfläche ist die Folie gut zu fixieren. Sie darf nicht flattern (Luftpumpeneffekt). Außerdem darf die Luft nicht zwischen Silage und Folie gelangen. Reifen sind zum Fixieren der Folie weniger gut geeignet. Besser Silosäcke verwenden. Weiterhin ist die Silofolie nur soweit zurück zu schlagen, wie für die Entnahme nötig. Sie sollte direkt mit der Anschnittfläche auf Kante liegen. Je weiter die Miete geöffnet wird, desto leichter kann die Luft in die Silage eindringen und Probleme sind vorprogrammiert..

Die genannten Maßnahmen sollten immer parallel zum Einsatz von Konservierungsmitteln erfolgen. Die Produkte selbst werden gleichmäßig über die Anschnittfläche verteilt. Ihre Wirkung beschränkt sich in der Regel nur auf wenige Zentimeter Tiefe, da sie nicht weiter eindringen. Richtig angewendet sind sie aber in der Lage, den Keimdruck von der offenen Mietenseite her etwas zu reduzieren. Folgende Produkte können angewendet werden:

Lupro-Mix NA

Grain Save NC 90

Propionsäure

Kaliumsorbat

Wichtig ist es in jedem Fall, die Ursachen für die Probleme zu finden. Das bedeutet, dass das komplette Silagemanagement kritisch geprüft werden muss. Wurde ausreichend verdichtet? Wie verlief die Walzarbeit? Wurde kurz genug gehäkselt? Passen TS- und Rohfasergehalt? - Nur einige Fragen, die es in diesem Zusammenhang zu beantworten gilt. Nur so kann für die kommende Siliersaison vorgebeugt werden und Probleme sind vermeidbar.

Tipps zur Planung der Siloanlage finden Sie hier.



Kontaktformular
Sprechen Sie uns an!